So today I came home from a really long day; from dusk to dark of just being out, laboring in life as it merged with the eternal past. I wondered to myself for a moment, what’s the point of all this? Reaching home, I noted disdainfully that I had but just a moment’s breath before the day’s over and I must return to another day’s labor, and here I am spending this time here to talk with you all. I love you guys! 😀

And so I simply recalled the life of Jesus, and this little phrase in Matthew 19:14, “Suffer little children, and forbid them not; to come unto me.” Our Lord and Savior had preached to a crowd, put some distance in and because of the persistence of the crowd healed some of them, put the Pharisees to shame again (will they ever learn?) and after all this, He said to suffer the children to come unto me. If it was me, I’d call it a day and tell them to come back tomorrow, or at least make an appointment; the King of kings is a busy man, right? And so I understand why the disciples would rebuke the people who brought forth their kids for their blessings.

But what of their blessings?

If you recall why Jesus came, you’ll really get what was happening here. He came to seek and save the lost, to demonstrate God’s love for us, that while we were yet sinners, that He would DIE so that we could be with Him. I think you aren’t following me exactly. Christ didn’t just die on that cross; He died everyday for us, as a living sacrifice for the masses! He suffered the children to come unto Him, and suffered Himself all the while… He worked overtime with no pay, and spent His downtime seeking the face of the Father and working on that relationship, not for Him, but for US.  Truly, this is love, where a man would lay down his life for his friends.

And so now I finally got it; that love that He showed to us, that purpose which drove Him to the cross, is what should move us and propel us into our destinies! And so, like Paul, I beseech you brethren by the mercies of God that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your REASONABLE service.

It’s never easy, but give of everything you have for the kingdom, for God gave you His everything; and even now gives you  more than that. And so, give still more. For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for Me (Jesus)  will find it.

Image

One thought on “Real Talk: What’s the point anymore?

Leave a Reply

