Image

As soon as I stepped into Sunday School this morning (we have classes for all ages) I heard the teacher quote this verse: 

Matthew 3:17 (ESV)

“and behold, a voice from heaven said, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased.”

My heart melted; and I’ll tell you why. Ever since I could remember being a Christian, one thing that God has always called me was His beloved son. Now I know what you’re thinking. This is a title reserved for Jesus Christ, right? Well Romans 8:17 refers to us as not only His children, but joint heirs with Christ; and we all know how much He loves us… well I certainly do 😀

In my times of struggle, where I found myself lonely, despaired and desperately trying to climb out of the mess I called myself, this was God’s way of assuring me that He is with me no matter where I go, and that He will never leave me nor forsake me…. I was never alone. Even now, writing this has me emotional because of all the reminiscent dreams of my ague of fear, disdain and lack of self worth during those times growing up.

On this particular morning, I really needed to hear that once more. Recently, things have been going so fast and intensely that I found myself crumbling in the chaos, without much rest or refreshment. Even my refreshing wasn’t that refreshing; the fatigue was simply too great and I found myself slipping through the cracks. In His mysterious, subtle way, He screamed out to my silent storm and demanded my attention, and now, I can’t help but praise Him!

To those who are still in the struggle; the struggle to hold on, to make ends meet, or to find yourself: know that you are his beloved child! He loves you so much, that no matter what your situation has been, or is, that He is calling out to you, to restore your soul first, and when you’ve recognized His presence and power, to turn your situation around for your good. Hear Him!

Picture taken from http://jacobministries.org/wordpress/?p=433

Leave a Reply

