For your information, I am still a Christian. Just thought I should let you all know that :p

I have the privilege of being on the pulpit often in my church. I was behind the drum cage today (one of my favourite places if you didn’t know ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) and from my throne (that’s what the drum chair is called) I was able to see the congregation during the prayer meeting. I couldn’t help but notice that as the person who was praying got hyped up, that the congregation suddenly was “all up in it” what with hands upraised, the “spiritual sway” and eyes closed, with a HALLELUJAH! or two at intervals. Having the relationship with God that I do, I posed this question to Him then and there.

“How much of these people really mean it?”

I hardly ever get riled up as was the situation I observed, but I know that when I do, that I mean it. My prayers are usually quiet, and best of all, spent listening, as well as talking. For me, it’s a conversation, not a shouting competition. This example is not the only thing that I witnessed happening in recent days, however. I don’t always feel “in the mood” for worship, even though I’m up there every Sunday singing with the backups; I don’t believe that shouting an entire sermon to me (not that my pastor does this) is going to minister to me any more than if you just talked to me, and I certainly don’t believe that after you prayed for me, that I should come back the next week with the same exact problem. That’s when I realized something quite interesting.

Church doesn’t do it for me any more.ย Image

I can’t live my life on church alone. The church was never meant to satisfy me, neither was it meant to preserve me; God does that! All the feelings mentioned above are normal, and if you never felt them before, well that’s cool too. The role of a pastor is to lead his flock, but it’s the flock’s job to follow. As one of my old teachers would say, you can lead them to the water, but you can’t make them drink, in that the church can only give you direction, but can’t really do anything else for you. It’s up to you whether you want more of God or not. And I chose, like Mary, the better part, to sit at the feet of Jesus and listen to what He has to say. To put it simply, I have chosen not to strive to be like Christians, but to be like Christ. I do hope that you too would decide to make this choice, because that is what this life is all about; not the church, but Christ. Needless to say, with the first revelation, a second one came as well.

God does it for me every time ๐Ÿ˜€

4 thoughts on “Real talk: Church Doesn’t do it for me anymore

    1. I disagree… WE are the church! If you spend all your time looking for a church and not looking for God, then you’ve been spending all your time for nothing. Instead of changing where you go to church, why not be a vessel to change the church! It’s all about God’s will over my own, which is part of why I’m still here ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

