In a way, this is somewhat a continuance of my last Real Talk entry. Perhaps it is a device of my own mind, but when I hear tragic stories, I tend not to feel affected in any way. I recognize that in the midst of it all, that these events are no longer surprising in light of the malicious world we live in today, and in some ways, I almost expect these things. In my country, murder has been on the rise, and more and more you hear stories of people around you who go through horrid experiences because of the tainted souls of a lost generation. I wonder if my passive feelings are right to have, and question the reason for the numbness of heart.

Am I being compassionate enough?

In a book that I’ve been reading, Jesus Is_____  by Judah Smith, I’ve been reminded that Jesus came not to be friends with the posh, well or religious of the world, but He came to befriend the lost and hurting. Countless times we hear that he was moved with compassion, and here I am sitting on my drum throne wondering if I’m being passionate enough because someone is praying their lungs out and it seems to me that I wasn’t moved at all. I tend to get a bit quirky around people who are in need, and my indifference scares me. The two greatest commandments God gave to us were that we love Him with all our heart, soul, mind and strength; the other that we love our neighbours as ourself. I can’t help but ask myself if I’m doing enough to achieve this end.

One may ask, (they might not, because they have an idea but should try their best to get the whole picture) what is compassion? Compassion may be defined as sympathetic pity and concern for the sufferings or misfortunes of others. Are we showing compassion for others? if we see someone hurt and in need on the side of the road, would we turn up our self righteous noses and scoff at their insignificance in our lives, or take a significant amount of effort to help them out?

Just something for us to think about. God Bless 🙂

Compassion

(photocredit to http://www.nickelnook.com/)

Leave a Reply

