I just returned from a weekend camp yesterday with a Christian group on campus, and boy did I have a good time 🙂 I will talk about that one later, but not today. So recently, I have had this obsession with not having a “thing”. So what is this thing I’m talking about? Well simply put, that one hobby that people can identify with you. For instance, my brothers all have things. My eldest is quite passionate about cars, another football and the one just before me loves aquatic fish. One of my close friends is a techie, while the other knows just about everything about music.

So what’s my thing???

Image

I’ve had many hobbies before, but I can’t really say that any of them qualify as a “thing” for me. To top it off, I really can’t say why I want to have a thing so badly, but it’s been on my mind for days and I can’t shake the thought of it. I’ve had many encounters with writing, art and perhaps some gaming, but they just don’t stick like I’d like that “thing” to. it’s quite belligerent this feeling… it’s like that little spunky pup that you know is going to bark his heart out once you round the corner; it’s there, and while you walk that road, it’s all you can think about. And I’m walking that road, all right.

I’ve had many mental attempts to get back into the grind of those aforementioned hobbies, but none struck gold just yet. Perhaps it’s just a mental block or something, but for now, I’m just going to have to either get some “thing” or get on with my life. You know, even Jesus had a thing. His thing, believe it or not, was us! We were all that He could ever think about. Even now He’s sitting at the right hand of God making intercession for us. Isn’t that cool? He even died on a cross for us! Now THAT is some serious dedication for His thing. He really is one cool guy 😉

Now I’m not saying that I must have some super awesome life saving “thing” that makes such an impact on the world that guns start shooting rainbows that make people happy instead of bullets that kill or anything (although that would be quite the sight to see.. you could imagine what a war would look like with that technology? An episode of my little pony, no doubt…) but I would quite enjoy it if I get a “thing” in the near future. What are some of your “thing”s? Or, if you don’t have one, do you want one? I’d love to know that I’m not the only one who thinks like this, so feel free to let me know 🙂

Love you all! Hope you enjoy your day with your “thing”s or lack thereof!

(photocredit to http://www.yorubagirldancing.com/)

Leave a Reply

