So I was talking to someone in Spanish today (which I haven’t studied since about 5 years ago I believe) and after interpreting, albeit with several checks to internet sources because of my lack of confidence in the field, and after finally freeing me from the torture of one word answers because I couldn’t muster up “la magica español” ( I can’t believe I actually checked to see if that was right, and still not sure that it is) to respond meaningfully, she said something pretty interesting to me. She said that she feels the same way, but she practised and it got easier… after all, it’s what she loves.

Image

The statement is a very important one. If we take a step back and look at it, within those few words, we get a powerful message. If you love it, you’ll work on it. Anyone who’s ever had a crush or passionately liked doing anything would know what I’m talking about. I remember days of huddling behind an ancient desktop computer sweating so much beads that I could have sold necklaces for a living, all because of a passion for video games. You see, my parents were well aware of my fiery passions, and so banned me from playing during the school term. Of course, that was but mere paper before the wrath of my feelings, and so on Saturdays when my parents were out working, I’d stake all my chips in a gamble to get my gaming on while they were not home. My father would pop in now and then, so if at any point I heard a vehicle approaching, I’d sprint like a madman and peep through the window to see if it was him. I had quite a few brushes with death during my adventures, but I must say it was rather enjoyable. In fact, these moments were far better than during the holidays when I could play as I wish.

Nothing like a little adrenaline to make a good time great, eh?

When you love something, you work on it. You get to know it better, and try your best to spend time with it, even if it means overcoming a few “setbacks” as was my case. It doesn’t feel like work either; it consumes your time, but to you, it feels worth it. My man Jacob from the Bible knows what I’m talking about. He worked, and boy did he work. He was willing to work seven years for his future wife, Rachel, because he loved her. It said these seven years “seemed unto him but a few days, for the love he had to her”. Even after all that, He still didn’t get exactly what he wanted, but had received the wrong wife! After being tricked and getting her older sister as wife first, he had to work even more for his precious Rachel. It is important to note that he received her as wife a week after marrying Leah, and not seven years after, as many have been led to believe. He still had to work another seven years, however, but his precious Rachel was with him, so it was all good. 🙂

God knows very well this principle, and that’s why His Word says in John 14:15 “If ye love me, keep my commandments.” Now, for those of you who don’t know (which, as always, I assume is all) I am a Computer Science student. In my first year, we were taught a little something about logic, which is very important to the above. Say we had two statements, P and Q. Had I said if P is true, then Q is true, we say that P implies Q, which simplified to the logic P or not Q, or Q prime. Why is this important? It meant that if P is false, then Q is false. Obvious, right? However, if Q is true, it doesn’t mean that P is true. Q has no effect on P, but rather P has an effect on Q.

Back to English now.

If I love God, I will keep His commandments. However, if I keep His commandments, it doesn’t mean that I love Him. In other words, my keeping His commandments is NOT a proof of my love for Him. It is, however, a by-product of me loving Him, because, well, it’s only natural. If I love God, I’d want to make Him happy. I’d spend time with Him, get to know Him and make the effort. It won’t feel like work either, because of the love I have; it will simply be my natural reaction. I said this because many a Christian use this scripture to condemn others, saying that if I disobey Him, I don’t love Him, when really God wants not our obedience, but our love. the obedience will come naturally, so don’t try to force it on others!

Image

This doesn’t apply God-ward only, but to relationships as well. I love my girlfriend. She’s a little piece of Jesus to me everyday, and the more I get to know her, the more I want to know Him. I want to spend time with her, get to know not just about her, but to experience her in her purest form. I want to experience her music, her passions, her pains… just about everything that I could get my hands on that would help me understand the wonder in which God has made her. I want to make her happy! it’s only natural. If she wants something, I’d bend over sideways (because backwards looks kind of odd) to get it for her, even if it’s a bit out of my way. She’d do the same for me, because she loves me too! It never was a matter of obedience, but a matter of love.

So friends, do you love God? Are you willing to work for Him, and make it work with Him? Do you love your job, or your course of study? Stop trying to force compliance, or force results. Try to love what you do, and it will come! I love you all, and I realise more and more everyday that I love talking to you all, and so I’m trying to make the effort too… for you guys 🙂

God Bless you!

    (photocredit to: http://ice-cream1122334455.deviantart.com/ and jimkitzmiller.net)

Leave a Reply

