Well I don’t know about you, but all this blood moon talk has got us Christian folk somewhat fired up. You see, it is our belief that this is indeed just another sign of the times we live in, and that Jesus is coming back for His homies pretty soon. My girlfriend showed me a scripture in acts that said:

Acts 2:20(NIV)

“The sun will be turned to darkness and the moon to blood before the coming of the great and glorious day of the Lord

Pretty hardcore, right? So there is some speculation about whether there is some globally impacting event that is soon approaching, but all the hubbub is not what I really wanted to talk about. You see, when my mother told me about it, the very first thought that came to my mind was, “Is He really coming back so soon? I’ve got work to do still!” I began tonight to really ponder my reaction. As a Christian, one should anxiously await Jesus’s return; so why was I so hesitant?

Image

I wish I could say that this reaction was a first for me, but it wasn’t. Mother likes to watch CNN in the morning, and often tells me all about it, saying that it’s only a matter of time before He comes for us. I’m not scared that He’d return, because I know where I stand in terms of my faith, but sometimes, I feel as if… I don’t want Him to come. At least, not yet. Knowing God, He might just come then to prove it’s not my timing but His, but nevertheless, I feel as if I haven’t had enough of “this life” as yet. I feel burdened to partake in ministry, get employed (after all, all these studies has to be for something, right?) and get married and have kids. I desire the ideal modern day Christian life. That’s not too much to ask, is it?

It didn’t take me too long to realize that I had become wrapped up in things that pertain to this life, as if it was all that ever was or will be. My endeavours and pursuits may very well be in alignment with pleasing God and all that good stuff, but what of my heart? the Bible says in Matthew 6 to lay up treasures for ourselves up in Heaven, for where our treasure is, there our hearts will be. I was acting like my harvest for my labour was down here!

Now, I’ll be frank with you all. I want to experience marriage and the joys of child rearing. I’d love to buy my first car, travel to faraway places and do all kinds of things. I won’t lie to you all either. I want to have sex. At least a couple of times. Of course, only within the framework that God deemed acceptable in His Word, but I still want to do it nonetheless. There is no guarantee that after the coming of our Lord, that these things will be available to me. It says that we won’t even be eating meat any more! I like my meat. with a side of more meat 😉

Thoughts like these had me caught up in the things that are temporary; the good book says that that which is seen is temporary but the unseen is eternal. (2 Corinthians 4:18) So, I decided to conceive of the unseen; that which is to come, when we are blessed to experience  a new Heaven and a new Earth. I could tell you this, it’s one of those things that you can’t wrap your mind around, in a good way. Thoughts of freedom, liberty, love, and best of all, being with Jesus 24/7 in a much realer sense than we are now, began to flood my mind.

Guess what, I got excited that He was coming!

Always remember that the reality that you live in now is not your final reality. Even before Jesus’s return, your reality can very well be turned upside down, and so the more treasures you store down here, the easier it is for you to suffer loss. I hope you are as inspired as I am to continue the walk of faith, running with endurance towards His pleasure, knowing that we got one heck of a future ahead once we believe. I know for sure I will 🙂

Bless you all! God loves you, and so do I! Enjoy your day, and give God praise for life; for with life, there’s hope.

Leave a Reply

