Now I don’t know about you, but I LOVE fresh bread. When my mom bakes, the aroma of those luscious loaves fills the kitchen, draping it in a warm blanket of floury bliss. Especially if you take it while it’s still warm from the oven, it’s so good you could eat it just like that. The bread melts in your mouth, hugs your tongue and slides down your throat, leaving you content with life within those precious seconds. Again, I don’t know about you, but after that period of “freshness”, the bread doesn’t quite appeal to me after. At that point, it’s just bread. I eat bread all the time, so it’s nothing special.

So I read Matthew 6 of my favourite book in the world the other day 🙂 and this certain line stood out to me, from verse 11:

“Give us today our daily bread.”

slicing-breadI could’ve been hungry, but I started to think about bread. For many, it’s one of the main staples in their lunches and breakfasts, and so it’s a quite substantial to their sustenance during the day. So it was quite interesting to see Jesus to call today our daily bread. For me, bread isn’t always nice. Some pasta, or even some rice, would be fun to mix in with my bread for some variety. Bread sometimes just isn’t what I want. Bread is lame sometimes. More often than not at that. Other than fresh bread, I’m not quite the fan of it at all.

This weekend just gone, I was given a prime example of how I feel about bread. We were volunteers to work at a  friend’s sister’s wedding reception. It was to take place within a school hall, and since school is still going on presently, they had no choice but to wait till Friday night, the night before the wedding, to begin preparations. We were instructed to come promptly for 6:30pm, with instructions that we will “start early and finish early”. Needless to say, if you know anything about Trinidadians, we are famous for not arriving on time. Case in point: I arrived at 7:20. They arrived close to 9pm. That’s not so bad, right? Well it just so happened that I arrived home at 3:45am. I had no intention of doing so, and my mom was livid. Her eyes sulked behind her darkened sockets due to lack of sleep and for the entire weekend, she reminded me of how late I was. It wasn’t helpful either that on Saturdays my brother and I go to the grocery.

I woke up at 8am.

Through all the hustle and bustle, I had to leave the reception around 7pm to travel to a family gathering (to give you an estimate of how far it was, I arrived after 9 when there was virtually no traffic on the road) and finally crept into my bed in the hours of Sunday morning. To get ready for church, of course, for that’s what we do on Sunday mornings. I thoroughly disliked my lack of sleep, and while enjoyed several aspects of my arduous weekend, recognized disdainfully the effects that it will have on my going to work in the week to come, for instance, me almost forgetting my wallet in the bus today because I fell asleep and woke up to find I had reached my stop. Yet, through all of this, I grew and learnt many things that will help me in the future.

10488364_662060820555686_2085289654216047224_n

 

(The gang of workers for the wedding)

I was nourished by my labours, and taught vital lessons in my turmoil. Every day has something within it that you can glean from, whether you recognize it then or later. Treat no day the same! It’s nice to even take some time in retrospect and discover all the things that can make tomorrow better than the day before. Best of all, when you realize that God is training you in the present for the future,  you begin to think with a more spiritually oriented frame of mind and become better prepared for business pertaining to the Kingdom of God. Isn’t that great!

I do hope you take the time to digest your daily bread, and appreciate it’s flavour; whatever that may be on that given day. Whether it’s a sour Monday, a bitter Tuesday or a fantastic Friday, these loaves will sustain you and keep you throughout your life if you let them. One day at a time, sweet Jesus! That’s the way to go 🙂

On a side note, I’m happy to inform you all that I’ve started a new blog where I have begun to talk about my experiences as it pertains to being in a Christian relationship. I hope you take a visit, and toss a couple of follows my way 😉 I love you guys, and I’m sorry for the inconsistencies that you all have to put up with, but we’ll see how things go. Have a blessed day 🙂

Leave a Reply

