After an agonizingly long period of procrastination and mustering guilt I have decided to finally return to this blog and greet you with a resolute hello…

Hi! ­čśÇ

ws_Coffee_Cup_1440x900
I wish that I could turn back time and essentially delineate every detail of my life over the past couple of months in a way that you all can read and benefit from, ┬ábut alas, time has its own plans. Nevertheless, I can guarantee with all certainly that those details were in fact life changing. In the best and most certain way ever. My faith has been rewarded, tested and tested again. My focus and resolve elevated┬áto the most prestigious height of honoring Jesus Christ with my life. I’ve met someone with whom I’d like to share that privilege with. This condensed summary could hardly ever do justice to it, so I do hope to share a bit more in the near future. But for now, I must share a few things.

As of the end of last year, I have resolved to dedicate my life to the service of my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, with intentions of participating in both short and long term global missions. This has come out of what I believe to be God’s hand over my life, following the ending of my tenure as the President of a Christian group on my campus, where I had hoped to graduate last year, but instead have a few courses to finish up. I was really seeking God for direction as to what my next step for Him would be, and certainly was surprised to find myself where I am today. I’ve yet to actually set out on any missionary activities just yet, but we’ll see how that goes.

I’m sure you’re all wondering however… What made you decide such a radical thing?

Matthew 16:25
“For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will find it.”

To be honest, I always told myself that I could never have my life regress to the mundane ┬ároutine of working at a job, providing for my family and going to church on Sunday morning. It simply isn’t me. For some that’s all they could ever think about, but it’s not the life I want to lead. I want to live my life serving Him in a more real and active way (not to say that a life cannot serve Christ under these circumstances).

I came to understand and appreciate the sacrifice that Christ paid for us. He sacrificed livelihood, fame, fortune and comfort… even His very life for us. His business, at every waking hour of His life, was in servitude to His Father and by extension, for us. His mission was us. We – the undeserving, self-seeking unrighteous people who could never dream of making it to heaven without God’s intervention. He was the one who showed his authority over┬áthe weather, sickness and even death… who wouldn’t want to follow this man? These things were somewhat meaningful to me previously, but it only truly struck home after I heard of the many stories of those who did follow Him.

I was able to hear stories of brothers and sisters from around the world who lost their families, their education and any hope of success in order to follow Christ and His message. They stored up treasures for themselves in heaven, and counted everything as loss, save that they could share in the love and fellowship of Christ, and tell others about Him. My heart leaped out of its bony cage and wept for my lack of seriousness with my approach to the cross. It ached and burned to once again fall in love with Jesus, and to desire to serve Him with all my life.

Perhaps this brief story of mine isn’t enough to get you to want to do the same. Perhaps, you’re now intrigued and would like to hear more. I pray that you keep posted and come along with me on this journey to help discover what led me to where I am currently in my next blog entry, where I will actually talk about the conference that I went to this past December, and get into the meat of the meal. Meanwhile, it’s been a pleasure speaking with you all once again, and I hope that this rekindles our great adventures together, displaying God’s glory through our own lives and experiences. I love you all, and pray for you to love Him too ­čśÇ

Have a great day!

 

7580223372_8c357ccbfb_b.jpg

 

One thought on “Catching up – Part 1: No Turning Back

Leave a Reply

