I may be just like you. Please don’t think that because I have a blog and I talk about all these Christian things that I’ve made it; because I haven’t. Maybe you have, but I assure you, I have not. I have my own shortcomings and faults, and am in constant need of the Grace of Jesus Christ to forgive me for the wrongs I have done and move forward. If any of you are like me, you may be holding on to some promise from God. Whether it be the assurance of heaven, or some other thing that you believe God has spoken into your life that you have the faith to achieve one day. It keeps you going sometimes when you reach low points in life and gets you that little boost to set you back on the right track. Being honest with myself, I know that this isn’t always the case. I’d still believe and hold on to those promises of tomorrow, but in the short run I’d be wondering why I even decide to wake up in the morning.

I need faith for today. Not just faith for Tuesday the 24th May, but each and every day. When I rise up, and when I go to sleep, I need that quality assurance that I am giving glory to God in my words, actions and deeds, even though I may fall short of His glory at times. Very recently, finding that faith has been quite difficult, with the rush of finals from school and employment deadlines, compounded with the task of balancing everyday life.

18209-faith-bigger-800x600

“For this reason I remind you to fan into flame the gift of God, which is in you through the laying on of my hands.”
-2 Timothy  1:6 (NIV)

In this except, Paul was encouraging Timothy in the Lord. Whether the sincere faith mentioned earlier in the passage was one for tomorrow or today I can’t say, but the gift mentioned here shows some semblance to a certain promise of God that I hold on to, and so I identify with it. Paul admonished him to work on and develop this gift, because it gives power, love and a sound mind.

Along with it came an invitation to suffer with him for the Gospel. A Gospel that we ought not to be ashamed of, but to rejoice in, for it was not that we were given the call to an eternal, holy life because of anything that we have done of ourselves, but rather because of the grace and mercy of our Lord.

In essence, the Gospel is our faith for today. It’s a passionate reminder of the sacrifice that our God has made for us, because He loved us. The ultimate sacrifice; a beautiful, intentional and everlasting exchange of His very self for our wrongs and mistakes, so that we could escape the justice and judgement that we deserve. The resounding, splitting echo of that love for us should spring us into action, reciprocating our love for him through living our lives as a daily sacrifice for His glory alone.

What is God’s gift to you? Like Paul, I implore you to work and develop that God given gift, toward whatever purpose that it has been birthed within. Take heart, and remember what God has done for you, and be a proud ambassador for His Kingdom! I hope you were encouraged like I was 🙂

Take care!

 

2-tim-1-7-web-watermarked

One thought on “Real Talk: Faith for Today

  1. This was encouraging. I usually skip over the “be encouraged” type post cause they never seem to have any substance, buy you came in good here. Daily reminders of the gospel truly hep motivate one to go on.

Leave a Reply

