So I’m sitting by my desk after a session of cleaning some of my drawers (mind you I’m not done yet, but decided to take a break while listening to a video on procrastination…. yes, I know, I’m procrastinating) and I’ve been thinking a lot about change. A popular saying is that the only constant in life is change, and I’m left here, bewildered at how many articles of the past still remain within my six drawers that I clearly don’t use or need. I’m not just yet ready for a minimalist kind of life, but I’m pretty open at this point to throwing some of these things out. They’ve outstayed their welcome, and only serve to invite dust and cobwebs and those little insect creatures that everybody knows about but don’t know what they are called when you leave old papers lying around for too long.

yjluwnx

In my moment of respite, I’m left to wonder the circumstances of my own life in the
quiet and stillness of a Sunday evening about those things that perhaps have overstayed their welcome. Having very much transitioned into the rigors of adulthood, there is this heavy weight of realizing that just about all the circumstances surrounding you are in your control, or are as a result of the actions that you choose. There’s no buffer from your parents anymore; it’s your mess, and your job to clean it, much like this desk I’m procrastinating on.

So what keeps us back?

Personally, I feel as if there’s still a bit of an illusion that these things are not that big of a deal. Things like saving up for the future, and paying close attention to your health, oftentimes introduce complications in your life that you are not always ready for. You find it difficult to incorporate them into your daily routines, which are more often than not seemingly packed to capacity as it is. Then there’s the gravity of knowing that you need to choose the direction that you want your life to go, and that there’s no one to do it for you. Up until recently there was always the easy choice: go to school, study for the test, pass the test, graduate… but now, the world is your oyster and you have no idea where to start.

I really admire those who had the foresight and resilience to charter their course from the get go, but I’m sure I’m not the only person who kind of just stumbled into the path that they’re currently treading on, and not a hundred percent sure that they should continue to stumble into their future.For those people, it feels like there is this little creature looming over their head that whispers for them to get their lives in order, and the more they ignore it, the more it fills their inner self with dread and fear and discontent with their current situation, but for the most part, they continue to ignore it.

I believe it is vital to be intentional about everything that we do. Our jobs, our recreation and our relationships, so as to plot our courses toward what we wish to achieve, and better yet, for what God wants us to achieve. The latter is often the hard part, because our dreams of grandeur don’t always line up with His plans of us being His humble servant. But let us run with perseverance the race marked out before us, trusting through faith that God has a plan for us, and that in the end, we will have joy everlasting.

 

 

 

One thought on “Real Talk: The rigors of change

Leave a Reply

